We can do hard things--and an exclusive short story!

How I started writing when I turned 30

Happy Summer!

Here in Portland, summer is in full swing. We’ve switched to iced coffee, everything is blooming all at once, and I’ve started counting down the days to fall. Nevermind that it’s still technically winter…

It feels like this year is flying by. Maybe that’s just the way of things once you hit a certain age. Or maybe the climate is changing and the seasons are shifting alongside it and we literally lost an hour last week and what is time anymore?

WHEN SPARKS IGNITE IS HERE!!!

Speaking of time flying, the final installation in the Embers in Wait series is finally available in hardcover and ebook!

It seems like it was only yesterday (actually 2018) when I was pitching But for the Mountains, and now here I am with a four-book series in print. Thank you to everyone who made this possible, and to everyone who stuck with me over the years as I told Arden’s story. It’s been a wild ride, and while I already miss these characters, I’m confident there’s no better ending for them.

While this is the final installment in this series, I’ve had several readers ask about Carla. If you’ll recall, Carla was Arden and Neve’s roommate at the Laarsworth Plantation. Since Neve got her own book, some have asked whether Carla does as well.

The truth is that Carla had quite the adventure to get where she gets (no spoilers!) but at this time there is no plan to publish her story in a full length novel. That said, I thought it would be fun to give you all a little taste of what she was doing behind the scenes. So I’ve included the link to a short scene about Carla below! I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it. (Again, no spoilers!)

DOING HARD THINGS

I was 30 years old when I started writing in earnest.

Sure, I write a lot in college. I studied political science and went to law school. Writing and research go hand in hand with those subjects. But nothing about it was creative.

I always had stories running through my mind, and occasionally I’d write them down. It never failed that I’d get about twenty pages in, realize I had no idea where to go from there, and I’d tuck it away in a folder, always to be abandoned.

So what happened? My infant took a nap. And I didn’t know how to not do thirty things at a time. So first I reupholstered some chairs I’d been meaning to do something about. And once I’d mastered those (“mastered” is a very loose term), I started writing. I didn’t do it well, and it was nothing I ever revised. (I wrote the sequel to my original idea—you can imagine what a mess that was.)

One thing led to another and I took my first workshop, then attended my first conference, and even bought myself a desk from Target (because that’s what makes one a serious writer doncha know?). Writing, much like law or medicine, is a practice. No two books are alike, no two characters are the same, and so my approach is constantly evolving. I once heard someone say “I only know how to write my last book.” And right now, as I’ve just finished my series and find myself on the precipice of new projects, I feel that so deeply.

But I’ve done it before, and I can do it again. And I find it terribly exciting to be still learning how to do this thing at 41. I hope I’m still starting something new when I’m 51 and 61 and 71, and so one. Wouldn’t that be exciting?

All of this is to say, 30 isn’t too old. 70 isn’t too old. If you want to write, then write. If you want to tap dance/fly an airplane/learn to bake macarons/determine

the present whereabouts of Princess Catherine, whatever! Go for it. You’ll be swell, and it’ll be fantastic.

BACKLIST BOOK CLUB

I don’t know about you, but I haven’t laughed enough lately. (Okay, so maybe some of the Kate Middleton/Hallmark movie memes are pretty good…) So while this isn’t really within my normal YA/MG recommendations, if you haven’t read ME TALK PRETTY ONE DAY by David Sedaris, please add it to your list.

“It’s non-traditional, but that’s the Rooster’s way.”

It’s a collection of humorous essays with his characteristic macabre, witty, and at times just plain stupid humor. “You Can’t Kill the Rooster” is a personal favorite that leaves me snort laughing until I can’t catch my breath.

I hope you try at least one new thing this month, and I’ll see you in April!

Til then…